Lights. Turn Them Off. Even in Hallways.

Does anyone I know have the skills required to make a movie? I don’t, but I bet one of my readers does.

I’m moving into my girlfriend’s apartment and I find it quite irksome that BC Hydro is running ads periodically that ask me to unplug my cell phone, laptop, VCR or whatever while the lights are on in every hallway of every building every hour of every day of the entire year. They’re NEVER turned off. NEVER EVER. At least not in the residential buildings and maybe not in office buildings either.

I’m the farthest person you know from being a conspiracy theorist, but I do have a theory… I think BC Hydro wants to act like they care about the conservation of power, and at the same time, they don’t want their bottom line to take a hit. On some level, they know their ads will have little if any effect when they make advertisements about unplugging our office computers at the end of the day, but if they advertised what a drain it is to have hallway lights on 24/7 they’d actually sell less power and be less profitable.

And who wants to be less profitable? Not BC Hydro.

I’d LOVE it if I could see a time-lapse video of any hallway in any building. We could add up the amount of time someone is walking from the elevator to their door, or from their door to the elevator. I bet it’s less than an hour a day leaving 23+ hours per day that the lights in that hallway could be turned off.

Why don’t we use timer switches like they do in Europe? I would have thought our Mayor would be right on top of this. It’s green, and no one is inconvenienced. Not even in the slightest.

Bike lanes? Controversial. Turning off the lights when no one is using them? Not controversial.

1 Comment »

  1. Jason said

    I know! I notice that too. They should just get lights that have timers and sensors as well. That way, they turn off automatically after a certain amount of time but when someone enters the hallway they sense the body heat and turn on again. It would save so much energy.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

