How much can YOU save by changing your commute?

Today I used a combination of Google Maps and this Fuel Calculator website to see how much it cost me to drive to work. I drive a small, 4L  Ford Ranger, the same Ranger I use to haul your recycling in, and the smallest pick-up capable of doing the job.  It costs somewhere between 0.18 cents/km when I don’t have the trailer attached for work, and 22 cents when I do.

There are 2 main routes to work that I take, one on the highway, and one on Marine Drive from North Vancouver to my office downtown. Sometimes I take the highway because it SEEMS faster to me, but that route, according to Google Maps adds 1.8 km to my drive and will take 1 minute longer each direction.  According to the data, just by taking the shorter, and APPARENTLY FASTER route, I would save….

1.8km * 2 = 3.6km * .18cents/km = 65 cents per day or $14.03 per month and 43.3 minutes (per month)

Try it out for yourself. I thought it was pretty interesting.

Stay tuned to see how that compares to the bus…

2 Comments »

  1. Its Google Maps that help locate an alternate route and by that count itself aiding in reducing our fuel bills.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

