The evolution of home media

Today at the gym I was reading the bulletin board and there were little funny quotes. One of them in particular, was relevant in my world, “Can we all just agree that after Blu Ray, we give it a rest? I don’t want to start my collection all over again!”

Of course, the corollary to this is that you’ve had to throw-out/dispose/”recycle” your VHS tapes and your DVDs. Fresh Start hasn’t taken away many DVD’s yet, but we’ve sure had a hand in getting rid of VHS tapes and VCR’s.

Regardless of the evolution of media, whatever comes after Blu Ray’s, please don’t buy them. It’s future garbage. Think of how many are out there just in each individual Blockbuster. Just alone in Vancouver, let alone the rest of Canada and North American. By weight, it’s an astronomical amount of garbage.

If you’re bored, may I suggest a letter to Blockbuster about their policy of “guaranteed available”? The only way to guarantee something is available is to buy an absolute truck load and make sure supply exceeds demand. Well, it’s a supply of future garbage (and it’s a waste of money to have all that cash tied up in inventory. It’s no wonder Blockbuster is heading bust).

The above was going to be my blog posting regardless, but after the gym I went to the library. I haven’t read a really good book in AGES and I wanted to see what was out there. Well, I’ll tell you what’s out there, all sorts of free DVDs, books on CD, musical CD’s and of course, books. iTunes, eat your heart out. Do you know how easy it is to copy a CD to your computer/iPod that you got at the library? It’s RIDICULOUS! AND IT’S FREE, AND THEN YOU GIVE IT BACK FOR SOMEONE ELSE. (I won’t say it’s “zero waste” because it isn’t, but it IS “less” waste.)

It had been YEARS since I went to the library, but I remember now why I like it so much. I took out a book on CD to listen to in the truck by Tom Robbins, a novel called Kill Zone by Coughlin, and a couple of DVD’s because I have a bunch of ironing to do tonight.

3 Comments »

  1. Will said

    More ironing. Less prestiging.

  2. Andy said

    When I was studying for my physics A-level, (a frightening 13 years ago now!), CDs were had not long become popular, but my physics professor already predicted Blu-Ray discs. She didn’t know they’d be called Blu-Ray specifically, but she predicted the technology.

    CDs and DVDs are read using a red laser. The amount of data which can be stored on a disc is limited in part by the frequency of this red laser. Blue lasers have a different frequency which allows for more data on a disc. My prof told us at the time that the blue laser was the better system, but that the manufacturers would wait until everybody owned the ‘red’ discs and equipment before introducing the “new”, better system, thereby forcing everybody to buy the discs and equipment twice!

    At the time, she was talking about CDs, because DVDs weren’t really around back then. But it is more or less what has happened!

    • Really? That’s fairly interesting, and probably, if you’re in the know, fairly obvious. I, and the bulk of the general public, are woefully ignorant on these matters though, so I’m just making a blanket statement that wise people invest in today’s technology, tomorrow.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

