Workouts vs. Networks

Does anyone else feel that when they go to the gym in the morning their day is that much better? I do a decent bit of networking and I’m always amazed when people stand up and announce how energizing the meeting was and how it is the kick in the rump they need to start their day. Privately, it usually comes out that they’re tired, it was an early start and blahhhh…. Usually that’s how I feel, which is why when it’s my turn to speak I usually thank them for the invitation, which is genuine, but if it’s a morning meeting at 7am or earlier, I never say, “I love getting up this early to work….” because I don’t. Lying’s not in my personal repertoire.

Contrarily, I DO get that energized feeling from going to the gym in the morning before work. This morning I had to go and get a booster shot following my trip in the winter to Thailand. I went before work at 7:30am because I was concerned that the shot might bruise my shoulder (it didn’t but it’s a legitimate concern).

I have to say that I feel great today, and I have felt great EVERY time I’ve gone to the gym before work. It’s quieter so you don’t have to wait, you can plug-in your iPod and machine to machine, no problem. AND YOU FEEL GREAT!

I know it’s a little bit outside of the box, and there’s no way to prove a negative, but I wonder if there’s some way to test how “networking” and “working out” affect the bottom lines of business owners. Personal experience tells me that the gym may be just as good, if not better for the bottom line than a morning networking meeting.

Any thoughts on this? I’d love to hear your experiences.

I’ve certainly earned business through morning meetings, but if I had to choose between going to the gym, or having a muffin and talking about responsible disposal? I choose the gym. I can responsibly dispose of things AFTER I’ve got a good sweat on.

1 Comment »

  1. Philip said

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though
    you relied on the video to make your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why
    throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when
    you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

