New link for Old fabric

Just recovering from a bit of minor surgery so that’s why the blog hasn’t been updated in a little while. I was presented with this link recently and I thought I would post it  just to prove I still exist.

It’s in response to my request to find a way to reuse fabric in this city because I know the owners of Bring Your Own Bag (http://www.bringyourownbag.ca/). They came to me asking if there was a way they could make their “green” bags greener.  I said, “What about turning waste fabric into new product”.

Here’s the link:

http://oursocialfabricvancouver.blogspot.com/

4 Comments »

  1. Adam said

    I’ve heard that these green bags can carry bacteria left by produce and meats that are carried in them after being reused several times. Does anyone have any info regarding that concern? It sounds to me like someone is trying to make a buck on selling bags when paper is available for free. If it’s better for the environment, why aren’t they giving them away?

    • Good questions Adam. Personally, I’m not particularly worried about bacteria left behind by produce or meats because I wash all my produce before I eat it. The meat’s in a package, so the next bit of meat I put in the bag would only get transfered to the next package of meat. I suppose I’d only really need to worry if I bought an unpackaged toothbrush, and didn’t give it a rinse before I brushed my teeth. Because this is truly impossible; I’m unable to think of a way that I’d get sick from reusing a bag.

      It’s good to think of different possibilities, but basically I think the odds of getting sick are so infintesimal that they barely require thought. Talking on your cell phone in the car or while crossing the street is FAR more dangerous, and so many of us do that without a thought so why do human beings (you, me the next person) worry about the impossible, when we should be worrying about things that are far more likely to kill us?

  2. Anybody interested in diverting electronics from landfills and stopping e-waste from getting sent overseas should have a look at Intercon Recycling’s page on Facebook. Become a fan and support the recycling efforts of this environmental leader.

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Chicago-Heights-IL/Intercon-Recycling/143347045321

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

