Price Loyal vs Brand Loyal

So, today I receive a call from a customer that is looking to have a stacking washer and dryer hauled away and recycled and she wants a price. Regularly our price for 1 time items like a washer or dryer is $75, but she’s both, and that’s about 2 yards, and we’re $45 per yard and so I say, “We do that.  $90 to have it recycled” or something to that effect.

She’s unimpressed with the price, so I suggest she phone around and see what she likes and she’s free to call us back at the end of the day.  I’m paraphrasing, but this is the gist of our conversation. Her retort is that she’s found a guy that can do it for $60.  “Well” I say. “It sounds like you’ve found a great deal! You should shake his hand and take him up on that”. Again, a paraphrase, but you get what I’m trying to say. I can’t do it for $60, I’ll lose money. He says he can. Hold him to it and solve the problem.

And so off I went about my morning. Phillips Lighting is downsizing a warehouse in Burnaby, and I have to pick up a cheque from a contractor in North Van and we have $10 off cards at Dunbar Lumber that need restocking and I go off to rip around on my scooter and enjoy the weather and all of that. But as I’m out tootling around I get to thinking, “Maybe I gave her bad advice”.  “Maybe she didn’t get a good deal!”

Maybe the people you hire to come into your house and remove appliances SHOULDN’T go to the lowest bidder.  What if, as I suggest on my website, that when you pay peanuts you get monkeys? What if, as I suspect, for the price of $60 it’s actually not profitable.  What if, the other company (if it was a company) loses money. After all, there can only be 1 least expensive guy. Right? And, he probably hires the least expensive employees, and they probably demonstrate the least level of care in the owners home.  Right? Am I out to lunch here? If we think it through, isn’t this the logical conclusion?

Sure you can compare prices when you buy Tide for instance.  Here’s it’s $12, there it’s $8. Same Tide package. Same Tide soap.  Who cares? Save the money.

But….

John, although a new employee, is also a professional mover.  Shouldn’t that account for something? Isn’t it worth the $30 difference to not hire a painter/drywaller/handy person to repair the dings in your wall?  Or to not have to drive to Rona and buy a new can of paint after you source a sample that you can have matched? Don’t you want to be guaranteed that your items go for recycling and not (as I saw on my trip out to Philips dumped on the side of the road like the pile of carpet and renovation debris)?

The type of customers we LOVE at Fresh Start take all these things into consideration.  The $30 doesn’t sound like a big difference to me when I weigh out the hassel of having yahoos bang a 200lb stacking washer and dryer into my wall and door jam after they realize it’s too tall/wide for the exit.

This is turning into a longer post than anticipated but I think this related story is relevant. Recently I went to get a massage from Jen Dobell at Pure Performance Massage Therapy, and I can’t remember what it cost. Truthfully, I don’t care.  When I went in there it was because I’d hurt something when I moved, and I couldn’t stand up straight and I was in significant, SIGNIFICANT pain.  She spent an hour working on me and the pain went from hurting at a light touch to gradually and slowly working on my problem.  I needed the full hour, but she was awesome!  Do I care what it cost? No. Would I recommend her to anyone? YES! It was phenomenal.

I’m brand loyal to Jen Dobel and the rest of the gang at Pure Performance, not price loyal.  And when I think of the hassle of hiring any old somebody to come into my HOME and take out appliances that were plumbed into the wall, I don’t want that left up to any old somebody.

Similar experiences anyone?

Leave a Reply

