Ad for Washington State Lottery

As the owner of a company I have to say that ads should be inspiring (you’ll note we have very few). πŸ™‚

I am a garbage man (albeit an exceptional one), and not an “inspirational ad” type guy. That doesn’t mean I can’t recognize a little creative genius when it comes my way.

I have to say, I saw this ad on television last night, and I had to share it with my intelligent reading public. In all likelihood you’ll see it eventually on the tube, (so much of our Canadian TV is from American feeds), and I think it’s worth sharing.

Ads shouldn’t talk down to their audience. They should inform and entertain, and they should interact with, not treat as lessers. Is it just me or is it annoying as all get out when a ‘knock knock’ joke is explained? Or when the latest McDonald’s ad spends the bulk of their alloted time saying things like, “We’re real ‘yolksters'” and then they explain the punchline. Damn. I tell you what, it turns me off Big Macs for a while.

Anyhow, I digress.

I think we’re all savvy enough to know that buying lottery tickets doesn’t really (in any kind of honest way) increase the odds of winning (about 1 in 14,000,000 for all you actuaries in the crowd). As stated on CBC’s website we have better odds of being killed by a terrorist while travelling (1 in 650,000) , to die – during an average lifespan – of flesh eating disease (1 in 1 million) or being killed by lightening (1 in 56,439). All those events I have to say are pretty unlikely. I still get on planes, I don’t really golf in thunderstorms, but I’m not afraid of them. And flesh eating disease? Well what do you say about flesh eating disease beyond, WOW, that must suck. I intend to buy a lottery ticket today though, why? 8 million bucks is a decent amount of cake, and I like dreaming. Who doesn’t?

And birds might too. Heck, in the realm of winning the jackpot quite literally anything is possible!

I’m comfortable with being a bit self deprecating, and I’m not the most insightful guy, but I think this Ad is brilliant for showing us what the lottery is for. Dreams.

What do you all think? Did you like the ad as I did? Should birds capable of flight be forced to swim around in really cold water like penguins? Or maybe we should make Penguins run really fast like the Emu? Oooooo so many options.

(I endeavoured to find a decent site on the Pot Odds of winning (a stats teaching in college told me that no matter what you won’t win, but if you’re going to play, play when it’s 14 million or more) but it was excessively matt laden. Here’s the link anyway)

I’m not as fancy as Kara or any of the other people that write on this blog, so I’m not going to include the actual video (even though I know it’s possible); I will include the link to the Washington Lottery ad and hope you check it out.

Here it is

1 Comment »

  1. Vlad4lotto said

    Buying ticket lottery , can help you win , but if you have a big luck . Luck it all that counts .

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

